Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT
Important Links:

 

 

Service Design Thinking in the Media
Cover lookKIT

Wirtschaftswoche - Gründerportal (07/2016):Design Thinking: Ideenquell für Startups?


Issue 3/2015 of KIT's magazine lookKIT reports (pp. 56) on the KSRI Service Design Thinking program 2014/15 (Link).


On January 6, 2014, German newspaper Süddeutsche Zeitung reported on the 2013/2014 Service Design Thinking course. Read their article (German only).

News: road show
SDT team

When: 2017  May, 31 6:00 pm

Where: KSRI (bld. 05.20) in room: 1C-02

Interested in KSRI's Service Design Thinking Program? Sign up for this event! Topics:

  • Briefing on the program, discussion with current participants and responsible persons
  • All relevant information on how to apply
  • Q & A session

 

Service Design Thinking

Profile: Service Design Thinking

Lecture Format One-course Module [WI4BWLKSR2]

Interactive course incl. lectures, intensive team sessions, and strong industry-cooperations
Credits 9 ECTS 
Lecturers Prof. Dr. Gerhard Satzger, Prof. Dr. Christof Weinhardt,
Niels Feldmann, Anke Holtmann-Plog, Ronny Schüritz  
Start & Duration Starts every year mid-September, ends end of June of the subsequent year (9 months)
KIT-Start of the 2017/18 course: Sept. 28, 2017
KIT-End of the 2017/18 course: June 30, 2018
Kick-Off and closing events 2017/18 Kick-Off: mid/end October, 2017
Closing: beginning June, 2018

Program Coordinator & Focal Point Niels Feldmann
 Application Apply via the KIT WiWi Portal (Link) !

Applications can be submitted in English or German.

The application process for 2017/18 is closed. 

 

 

Course Overview

The module “Service Design Thinking” is more than a mere academic exercise - Master Students in Business Engineering (M.Sc.) and Information Engineering and Management (M.Sc.) at KIT are confronted with a real-life innovation challenge from industry.

In cooperation with an industry partner and partner universities from the SUGAR Network (incl. the Stanford University, University of St. Gallen, Trinity College Dublin) the KIT students will learn and practically apply the philosophy, ideas and instruments of “Design Thinking”. Over nine months, teams of eight students will develop innovative solutions for concrete business problems from their respective partner company. The Design Thinking project will focus on service, process and business model innovation.

The program includes international meetings and get-togethers of the participating universities. The student teams will be accompanied by professional Design Thinking experts during these meetings. Facilitators from KIT and the company will support the teams throughout the project. Travel expenses and material costs will be covered by sponsors.


What is Design Thinking?

Design Thinking is a method for successfully developing breakthrough solutions. The methodology helps build innovations by going beyond the consideration of technological and economical perspectives: From the very beginning, Design Thinking focuses on the needs of future users and thus enables people to develop radical new products, services and business models.

human-centeredDesign Thinking is human-centred
Design Thinking always focuses on people: On costumers, users, employees, etc. Therefore, interviews and observations are two of the most important instruments in Design Thinking processes. Eventually, the user is the one who decides whether a product or a service will be successful.



converging-diverging Design Thinking is development through divergent and convergent phases
The Design Thinking methodology enables the team members to think in diverse ways and helps develop a whole pool of new ideas (divergent phase). Subsequently, it also helps identify the best ideas and focus on developing their advantages (convergent phase).



iterations Design Thinking is a dynamic process
Throughout the whole project, Design Thinking is an iterative learning process. Thus, the whole team is moving between stages of the innovation process: Understanding the problem, re-defining the problem, need-finding, ideation, building of prototypes and – most importantly – testing with potential end-users.



prototypingDesign Thinking means Prototyping
Prototyping is communicating. Each prototype makes current ideas visible and tangible – and thus enables them to be discussed. It allows involving end-users from the very beginning of the innovation process.


All images by courtesy of ©University of St. Gallen (http://dthsg.com/what-is-design-thinking/).

Application and formal requirements

Design Thinking is more than a usual lecture in your study plan. For 9 ECTS credits, you will have to face a real business challenge. If you are willing to work on a real business problem in a team of five excellent students for a total of nine months (September ’16 to June ’17), you will get the unique chance to work with the renowned Stanford University and the University of St. Gallen – not to forget the mentors from your partner company.

What we expect:
  • You should be studying Business Engineering (M.Sc.), Information Engineering and Management (M.Sc.) or Computer Science (M.Sc.) at KIT.
  • Excellent achievements, enthusiasm and willingness to work together in a small team.
  • Good grades are important. But the same is true for your personality and, if applicable, your experience in Design Thinking.
  • Willingness to work diligently on a nine-month-project: 110% for your team, for your tasks, for your company. This is why we expect you to be present in Karlsruhe for the duration of the project.
  • Details on application deadlines will be published on this site.
What you get:
  • Experience in solving a real business innovation problem by applying the renowned Design Thinking methodology as developed and taught at Stanford University.
  • 9 ECTS credits for a complete BWL module “Service Design Thinking”.
  • Active participation in international Meeting of the SUGAR Network.
  • You will be part of the great SUGAR network of students and coaches from renown universities such as the Stanford University, the University of St. Gallen, or the Trinity College Dublin.
  • Coaching throughout the entire project.

If you are interested in this course, you can apply for it via this offer on the KIT WiWi Portal.

Partner


This course is realized in close cooperation with

universities from the SUGAR Network

 (incl. Stanford University, University of St. Gallen, or the Trinity College Dublin)


The SUGAR program is inspired by the Design Thinking course ME310 at the Stanford University. It pulls together internal engineering and business students to work on real-life innovation challenges. Working together in small teams, the students realise breakthrough solutions in close cooperation with industry and the collaborating universities. Meanwhile the SUGAR program is offered by over 20 universities from around the globe forming the SUGAR Network. Established partner universities of the KIT from the SUGAR Program include Aalto University Helsinki, the Hasso-Plattner Institute in Potsdam, the Trinity College in Dublin and the University of St. Gallen.

The following website provide an impression of the SUGAR Program:

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT
Wichtige Links:

 

 

Pressemeldungen
Cover lookKIT

Wirtschaftswoche - Gründerportal (07/2016): Design Thinking: Ideenquell für Startups? 

Die Ausgabe 3/2015 des KIT Magazins lookKIT berichtet auf Seite 56ff. über das KSRI Service Design Thinking Programm 2014/15, hier der Link.

Über das Programm 2013/2014 berichtete die Süddeutsche Zeitung am 6. Januar 2014, hier der Artikel.

Aktuell: Informationsveranstaltung
SDT team

Wann: 31. Mai 2017, 18:00 Uhr (ca. 1 Stunde)

Wo: KSRI (Geb. 05.20) in Raum: 1C-02 

Interesse am Service Design Thinking Programm des KSRI? Dann melde dich an! Themen:

  • Informationen zum Programm, Austausch mit aktuellen Teilnehmern und den verantwortlichen Organisatoren
  • Alle relevanten Informationen zur Bewerbung
  • Fragerunde

 

Service Design Thinking

Profil: Service Design Thinking

Lehrformat Modul [WI4BWLKSR2] und gleichzeitig Lehrveranstaltung

Interaktiver Kurs mit Vorlesungsanteil, intensiver Gruppenarbeit und hohem Praxisbezug
Anrechnung 9 ECTS 
Dozenten Prof. Dr. Gerhard Satzger, Prof. Dr. Christof Weinhardt,
Niels Feldmann, Anke Holtmann-Plog, Ronny Schüritz  
Start & Dauer Start jeweils Mitte September, Ende im darauffolgenden Juni (9 Monate
KIT-Start des 2017/18 Kurses: 28.09.2017
KIT-Ende des 2017/18 Kurses: 30.06.2018
Kick-Off & Abschluss 2017/18 Kick-Off: Mitte/Ende Oktober 2017
Abschluss: Anfang Juni 2018

Kurssprache  Englisch 
Programmkoordinator & Ansprechpartner Niels Feldmann
Bewerbung: Bewerben Sie sich bitte über das WiWi Portal (Link) !
Bewerbungen können wahlweise auf Deutsch oder Englisch eingereicht werden.

Das Bewerbungsverfahren für den Kurs 2017/18 ist bereits abgeschlossen.

 

 

Überblick

Das Modul "Service Design Thinking" bringt eine Herausforderung direkt aus der Unternehmenspraxis und Studierende des Wirtschaftsingenieurwesens (M.Sc.) und der Informationswirtschaft (M.Sc.) am KIT zusammen.


In Kooperation mit einer Universität aus dem SUGAR Netzwerk, zu dem u.a. die Stanford University, die Hochschule St. Gallen oder das Trinity College in Dublin zählen, sowie einem Partnerunternehmen lernen ausgewählte Studierende des KITs die Philosophie und Werkzeuge des Design Thinkings direkt in Aktion kennen. Dazu entwickeln sie in enger Kooperation mit dem Studierenden-Team der Partneruni eine innovative Lösung für ein ausgewähltes Problem aus der Industrie. Die Aufgabenstellung des Partnerunternehmens fokussiert sich dabei auf Dienstleistungs-, Prozess- und Geschäftsmodellinnovationen.

Im Rahmen des Programm finden internationale Treffen der beteiligten Universitäten statt. Bei diesen Treffen, genauso wie während aller Arbeitsphasen des Programms, werden die Studierenden des KIT von erfahrenen Design Thinking Experten begleitet. Die Kosten für die Reisen und die Arbeitsmaterialien werden durch Sponsoren getragen. Während des kompletten Zeitraums stehen den Teams die Betreuer des KSRIs und des Partnerunternehmens zur Seite.


Was ist Design Thinking eigentlich?

Design Thinking ist eine Methode zur Entwicklung kreativer und erfolgreicher Lösungen – und das auf unkonventionelle Art und Weise. Bei Design Thinking geht es nicht um die Entwicklung von Innovationen aus traditioneller Technologie- bzw. businessbasierter Perspektive. Von der ersten Minute an sollen die Bedürfnisse des Nutzers berücksichtig werden. Design Thinking entwickelt Innovationen direkt an der Schnittstelle von Mensch, Technologie und Geschäftswelt.

human-centeredDesign Thinking stellt den Menschen in den Fokus des gesamten Prozesses 
Im Design Thinking Prozess steht der Mensch als Individuum mit seinen Bedürfnisse immer im Mittelpunkt. Kundenbefragungen in jedem Status der Entwicklung führen zu einem hohen Verständnisses aller relevanten Bedürfnisse.




converging-diverging 

Design Thinking findet nicht nur eine Lösung – und genau darin liegt eine große Herausforderung

Erst wenn das Problem vollständig erfasst ist und der Mensch als Anwender mit seinen vielen verschiedenen Bedürfnissen verstanden ist, geht es an die Lösungsentwicklung. Dabei stellt die Design Thinking Methodik sicher, dass das kreative Potential des Teams voll ausgenutzt und möglichst viele neuartige Lösungsansätze entwickelt werden (diverging). Mit effizienten Methoden wird anschließend aus dieser Vielzahl an Ideen die beste gefunden und weiterentwickelt (converging).




iterationsDesign Thinking ist nicht statisch, sondern ein dynamischer, iterativer Prozess
Während der gesamten Projektlaufzeit bewegen sich die Teams immer wieder zwischen den einzelnen Phasen des Innovationsprozesses hin und her: Bedürfnisidentifikation, Ideenfindung, Prototypentwicklung, Usertests – alles wird in jeder Stufe neu hinterfragt und auch schon mal auf den Kopf gestellt.




prototypingPrototypen veranschaulichen Design Thinking Ergebnisse ab der ersten Iteration 
Erst Prototypen veranschaulichen eine Lösung und helfen dabei, jede Idee frühzeitig zusammen mit dem Kunden zu testen – und sie mit dem Kunden zusammen weiterzuentwickeln. So werden die Endnutzer in jedem Status des Innovationsprozesses miteingebunden.

 

Alle Graphiken zum Design Thinking Prozess mit freundlicher Genehmigung der ©Hochschule St. Gallen (http://dthsg.com/what-is-design-thinking/).

Bewerbung

„Service Design Thinking“ ist mehr als nur eine Vorlesung, für die es 9 ECTS-Punkte gibt. „Design Thinking“ ist eine Herausforderung für Studierende, die bereit sind, über neun Monate hinweg alles zu geben – in einem kleinen Team und in enger Zusammenarbeit mit renommierten internationalen Top-Universitäten und Wirtschaftsunternehmen.

Das erwarten wir:
  • Wir suchen Studierende des Wirtschaftsingenieurwesens (M.Sc.), der Informationswirtschaft (M.Sc.) und der Informatik (M.Sc.)
  • Wir erwarten herausragende Leistungen, Begeisterungsfähigkeit und Teamgeist, den ihr am besten schon außeruniversitär unter Beweis gestellt habt.
  • Noten sind wichtig – was für uns aber ebenso wichtig ist, sind eure Persönlichkeit und - falls vorhanden - eure Erfahrung im Design Thinking.
  • Bereitschaft, über einen Zeitraum von neun Monaten Vollgas zu geben: 110% für euer Team, für eure Aufgabe, für euer Unternehmen. Daher ist es unabdingbar, dass ihr in dieser Zeit in Karlsruhe vor Ort seid.
  • Details zu Bewerbungsfristen werden an dieser Stelle bekannt gegeben.
Das bieten wir:
  • Arbeit an einem praxisrelevanten Innovationsproblem durch Erlernen der renommierten Innovationsmethodik „Design Thinking“, wie sie an der Stanford University gelehrt wird
  • 9 ECTS im BWL-Modul „Service Design Thinking“ für Wirtschaftsingenieur- und Informationswirtschaftsstudenten im Master
  • Aktive Teilnahme an internationalen Meetings im SUGAR Verbund mit spannendem Rahmenprogramm
  • Vernetzung mit Studierenden und Betreuern der Partneruniversitäten aus dem SUGAR Network
  • Coaching über den gesamten Zeitraum

Interessierte Studierende können sich über dieses Angebot auf dem KIT WiWi Portal bewerben

Partner


Diese Veranstaltung wird realisiert in enger Zusammenarbeit mit 

Universitäten aus dem SUGAR Netzwerk

 (z.B.  Stanford University, Universität St. Gallen, Trinity College Dublin)




Der ursprünglich von der Stanford University initiierte Design Thinking Kurs bringt internationale Ingenieurs- und Wirtschaftsstudenten zur Bearbeitung echter Innovationsherausforderungen zusammen. In Teams arbeiten die Studenten an zukunftsrelevanten Projekten aus der Wirtschaft und profitieren dabei von dem ständigen Austausch mit kooperierenden Partneruniversitäten. Inzwischen wird der Kurs von über 20 Universitäten aus der ganzen Welt angeboten, die sich im SUGAR Netzwerk zusammengeschlossen haben. Zu den etablierten Partneruniversitäten des KIT SDT Programms aus dem SUGAR Netzwerk gehören die Aalto Universität in Helsinki, das Hasso-Plattner Institut in Potsdam, das Trinity College in Dublin und die Universität St. Gallen.


Nachfolgende Websites vermitteln einen Eindruck vom SUGAR Programm: