Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Value Stream Services

VSS Gruppe

Head: Dr. Markus Bauer, Prof. Dr. Kai Furmans

Secretary: Helga Neher,


The research group Value Stream Services (VSS) of Dr. Markus Bauer and Prof. Kai Furmans focuses on methods and services to systematically improve the flow of material and information in value streams (VS).

We define Value Streams as the entire scope of all material and information flows as well as those activities involved to develop, produce and offer services or products within a product line. VS cover the range of the activities of the supplier, different departements within a company and the customer.

VSS may be related to the product itself (e.g. transport and storage), they can be involved in the designing, planning or execution processes of the material and information flow (e.g. design, sales and inventory planning) or they can be concerned with the management and support functions for Value Streams (e.g. VS controlling). We examine services at each stage within the entire life cycle of a VS or product, from the product development process to the ramp-up phase and the spare parts supply and the product discontinuation. Our research takes an interdisciplinary approach considering logistics, production engineering, IT and management aspects.

Some of the research topics of our Research Group are listed below:

  •   Creation of value streams focusing on flexibility and supply reliability
  •   Inventory management in value streams
  •   Lean Transport Management
  •   Lean Management in warehouses
  • Information transparency and process optimization in value streams with the application of RFID

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Value Stream Services

VSS Gruppe Leitung: Dr. Markus Bauer, Prof. Dr. Kai Furmans

Sekretariat: Helga Neher, Maria-Theresia Simon


Die Forschungsgruppe Value Stream Services (VSS) unter der Leitung von Dr. Markus Bauer und Prof. Kai Furmans befasst sich mit Methoden und Services zur systematischen Verbesserung von Material- und Informationsflüssen in Wertströmen.

Unter Value Streams (VS) bzw. Wertströmen verstehen wir die Gesamtheit aller Material- und Informationsflüsse sowie all jene Aktivitäten, die notwendig sind, um Produkte einer Produktfamilie beziehungsweise Dienstleistungen zu entwickeln, herzustellen und anzubieten. Der Wertstrom beinhaltet alle Tätigkeiten des Lieferanten, die Leistungen, die in den verschiedenen Abteilungen des  Unternehmens erbracht werden und die des Kunden.

Value Stream Services sind Dienstleistungen, die direkt am Produkt erbracht werden (z.B. Transport, Lagerung), zur Gestaltung, Planung oder Steuerung des Material- und Informationsflusses dienen (z.B. VS Design, Absatz- und Bestandsplanung) oder sich auf Management und Supportfunktionen für den VS beziehen (z.B. VS Controlling). Wir befassen uns mit Services in allen Phasen des Lebenszyklusses eines Wertstroms bzw. Produkts – vom Produktentstehungsprozess über die Hochlaufphase bis zum Auslauf und der Ersatzteilversorgung. Unsere Forschung erfolgt interdisziplinär, insbesondere  werden Aspekte aus Logistik, Fertigungstechnik, IT und Management betrachtet.

Beispiele für Forschungsthemen der Arbeitsgruppe sind:

  • Aufbau von Wertströmen unter besonderer Betrachtung von Flexibilität und Versorgungssicherheit
  • Bestandsmanagement Management in Wertströmen
  • Lean Transport Management
  • Lean Management in Lagern
  • Informationstransparenz und Prozessoptimierung in Wertströmen über Einsatz von RFID