Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Knowledge Management & Web Science

Head: Prof. Dr. York Sure-Vetter, Prof. Dr. Rudi Studer


Secretariat: Beate Kühner, Gisela Schillinger
Links: WIM∂AIFB


The research group Knowledge Management (WIM) headed by Prof. Dr. York Sure-Vetter and Prof. Dr. Rudi Studer is one of the world wide leading institutions in the area of semantic technologies. Topics addressed by the group include methods for knowledge management in enterprises, technologies for realizing the Semantic Web vision, and research questions in the area of information management and engineering as well as Web-based services. Topics of particular interest are the application of semantic technologies for information and application integration, the development of scalable and powerful reasoning techniques, seamless integration of Web 2.0 and Semantic Web technologies, and intelligent access to existing knowledge.

Semantic representation of knowledge by means of ontologies and metadata provides the methodological basis for this work. Leveraging intelligent methods for information extraction together with data-, text-, and Web-mining techniques, facilitates semi-automated creation of ontologies as well as metadata and enables customization of applications to the behavior of a user. Application areas of these intelligent semantic methods are Web Service technology, Peer-to-Peer-Systems and Grid-Applications. Often realizing these applications requires interdisciplinary cooperations with groups from other research areas such as economics or law.

In order to foster exploitation of research results the group closely collaborates with the group Information Process Engineering (IPE) at the FZI Research Center and with the start-up company ontoprise GmbH. Furthermore, the group Knowledge Management is involved in many co-operations with companies and other research institutes, both on a European and a national level. Currently, the group is participating in several EU-funded projects, including NEON, XMedia, Active and SOA4All, and several projects funded by the German Research Foundation such as MULTIPLA, ReaSem and the Graduate School Information Management and Market Engineering.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Wissensmanagement & Web Science

Leitung: Prof. Dr. York Sure-Vetter, Prof. Dr. Rudi Studer

Sekretariat: Beate Kühner, Gisela Schillinger

Links: WIM∂AIFB

 


Die Forschungsgruppe Wissensmanagement (WIM) unter der Leitung von York Sure-Vetter und Prof. Dr. Rudi Studer ist eine der weltweit führenden Gruppen im Bereich semantischer Technologien. Die Forschungsgruppe beschäftigt sich mit Methoden zur Unterstützung von Wissensmanagement in Unternehmen, mit der Entwicklung von Methoden und Werkzeugen zur Verwirklichung der Idee des Semantic Web sowie mit Fragestellungen im Bereich der Informationswirtschaft und Web-basierten Diensten. Dabei spielen Fragen der Informations- und Applikationsintegration, der automatischen Ableitung von neuem Wissen, der nahtlosen Integration von Methoden des Web 2.0 und des Semantic Web sowie des intelligenten Zugriffs auf vorhandenes Wissen eine zentrale Rolle.

Grundlegende methodische Basis ist die semantische Repräsentation von Wissen durch Ontologien und Metadaten. Intelligente Verfahren der Informationsextraktion und des Daten-, Text- und Web-Minings erlauben die semiautomatische Generierung von Ontologien und Metadaten wie auch die adaptive Anpassung von Anwendungen an das Benutzerverhalten. Die Forschungsgruppe nutzt solche intelligenten und semantischen Methoden, um neue Fragestellungen aus den Bereichen Web Services, Peer-to-Peer-Systeme und Grid-Anwendungen zu beantworten. Oftmals geschieht dies in Zusammenarbeit mit interdisziplinären Partnern aus anderen Forschungsbereichen.

Um erzielte Ergebnisse in der Praxis umzusetzen, kooperiert die Forschungsgruppe eng mit dem Forschungsbereich Information Process Engineering (IPE) am FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik sowie dem aus der Gruppe ausgegründeten Unternehmen ontoprise GmbH. Weiterhin bestehen zahlreiche Verbindungen zu nationalen und internationalen Forschungseinrichtungen und Firmen, die in den letzten Jahren insbesondere über Beteiligung in Forschungsprojekten des Landes, des Bundes und der Europäischen Union aufgebaut wurden. Derzeit ist die Forschungsgruppe an den EU-Projekten NEON, XMedia, Active und SOA4All sowie den DFG-Projekten MULTIPLA, ReaSem und dem Graduiertenkolleg Informationswirtschaft und Market Engineering beteiligt.