Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT
Research Group Digital Service Innovation
Portrait von Prof. Dr. Satzger

Kollegiengebäude am Kronenplatz (Bld. 05.20)

Kaiserstraße 89
D-76133 Karlsruhe

Office

Tel.: +49 721 608-45758
Fax: +49 721 608-45655

office hours daily from 8 am to 1 pm

 

directions & location plan

Digital Service Innovation (DSI)

Our conviction: We strongly believe that digitalization will radically transform the way value is generated for businesses and individuals. Information and communication technology will be the “glue” for service systems in which several partners cooperate to jointly create value. In a business context this means that innovation concepts have to elevate above the scope of the single enterprise and comprise customers, partners or whole ecosystems.

Our focus: We are fascinated by the opportunitities that digitization holds for service innovation. Our research focuses on concepts, methods and tools to design novel services and entire business models. At the same time, we run an integrated teaching and training concept within the KSRI to educate future leaders for a global, services-led world. Based on a solid understanding of service systems, students are developing economic, technical, social, and legal competences essential to successfully engineer and manage IT-based services. Courses are usually taught in English.

Our expertise: We specialize in analyzing and designing user-centric and IT-based services and evaluating them in practice – while tightly connecting business and technology. Our current research interests center around

  • Service Innovation: Enhance the innovation capabilities of service systems, e.g. via Service Design Thinking, Open Innovation, Enterprise Crowdfunding, Needmining, Innovation Adoption  (contact: Niels Feldmann).
  • Service Analytics: Leverage data across service systems, and apply data-based quantitative methods to develop and deliver novel services e.g., IoT-based Services, Risk-Based Contracts , Service Level Engineering, Customer Intimacy Analytics, Customer Contribution Management, Social Media Analytics  (contact: Niklas Kühl).
  • Technology Driven Transformation: Apply new technologies for the development of innovative digital services and service business models, e.g. via Data-Driven Business Models, Blockchain for Service Systems and Service Innovation for E-Mobility (contact: Ronny Schüritz).

Our team: We run a unique approach to closely connect business and academic research: with IBM as a key industry partner for the Karlsruhe Service Research Institute, IBM and university researchers are closely collaborating “on campus”. In addition, most of our team members closely work in projects with industry participation. We aim to early on integrate our students in our research teams and projects.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT
Forschungsgruppe Digital Service Innovation
Portrait von Prof. Dr. Satzger

Kollegiengebäude am Kronenplatz (Geb. 05.20)

Kaiserstr. 89
D-76133 Karlsruhe

 

Sekretariat

Tel.: +49 721 608-45758
Fax: +49 721 608-45655

Öffnungszeiten tägl. 8:00 - 13:00 Uhr 

 

Anfahrtsbeschreibung & Lageplan

 

Digital Service Innovation (DSI)

 

Leitung:

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Satzger


Sekretariat:

Helga Neher,

Maria-Theresia Simon


Unsere Überzeugung: Wir sind uns bewusst, dass die Digitalisierung die Art und Weise, wie Wert für Unternehmen und Individuen geschaffen wird, tiefgreifend verändert. Information und Kommunikation bilden die Basis für Servicesysteme, innerhalb derer mehrere Partner kooperieren, um gemeinsam Wert zu schaffen. Dies bedeutet, dass Innovation nicht mehr für einzelne Unternehmen betrachtet werden kann, sondern Kunden, Partner oder ganze Wertschöpfungsnetzwerke einbezogen werden müssen.

Unser Fokus: Wir sind fasziniert von Konzepten, Methoden und Werkzeugen, um neuartige Dienstleistungsangebote und ganze Geschäftsmodelle zu konzipieren – und machen dies zum Kern unserer Forschungsaktivitäten. Gleichzeitig setzen wir innerhalb des KSRI ein integriertes Lehr- und Ausbildungskonzept um, das zukünftige Führungskräfte auf eine digitale und dienstleistungsorientierte Welt vorbereitet. Basierend auf einem tiefen Verständnis von Servicesystemen eignen sich Studenten wirtschaftliche, technische, soziale und rechtliche Kompetenzen an, die notwendig sind, um erfolgreich IT-basierte Dienstleistungen zu entwickeln. Unsere Veranstaltungen finden üblicherweise in englischer Sprache statt.

Unsere Expertise: Wir sind darauf spezialisiert, nutzerzentrierte und IT-basierte Servicekonzepte zu entwerfen und in der Praxis zu erproben – und dabei technologische und wirtschaftliche Betrachtungen eng miteinander zu verknüpfen. Unsere aktuellen Forschungsinteressen konzentrieren sich auf:

  • Service Innovation: wir streben danach, die Innnovationsfähigkeit von Service Providern und Konsumenten, z.B. durch Ansätze wie Service Design Thinking, Crowdfunding, Entscheidungsdesign (Nudging) und Entscheidungsunterstützung (Decision Support Systems) zu verbessern (Ansprechpartner: Niels Feldmann).
  • Service Analytics: wir nutzen Daten, um effektive neue Leistungsangebote in Servicesystemen zu entwickeln, z.B. durch Smart Services, die das Internet of Things (IoT) nutzen, Customer Intimacy Analytics, Service Level Engineering, Customer Contribution Measurement, oder Outcome-Based Contracts (Ansprechpartner: Niklas Kühl).
  • Technology Driven Transformation:  wir entwickeln neue dienstleistungsbasierte Geschäftsmodelle, z.B. für Industrial Services, Data-driven Business Models, oder E-Mobility Service Ecosysteme (Ansprechpartner: Ronny Schüritz).

Unser Team: Wir vernetzen Wirtschaft und akademische Forschung: Forscher von IBM (als Industriepartner des KSRI) und der Universität arbeiten "on campus" eng zusammen. Der Großteil unserer Mitarbeiter arbeitet in Projekten mit Industriebeteiligung; Studierende werden früh in unsere Forschungsteams und -projekte eingebunden.